Research into Equipment

In this post I’m going to explain some of the equipment I’m going to be using when filming my music video. I’ve shown the majority of things I’m planning on using with pictures and descriptions of each one.
image2 (2).JPG

This is the Canon 550D DSLR with an 18.0 megapixel digital single-lens reflex,weighing approx 0.53 kg with reasonable sizing (128.8 x 97.3 x 62mm) and comes with a battery and a SD card. I will be using this to film my music video as well as taking pictures for my print work e.g. advert and digipak but I will change the lens depending on what feature I’m using it for to ensure I get the most professional finish possible. It can film in full 1080p which is very HD meaning my footage will be clear. The 16GB SD card allows me to hold lots of footage and pictures so I won’t have to bring more than 1.

image4 (1).JPG

 

A key piece of equipment is the tripod, a three legged stand that I can attach the camera, a light, camera slide of dolly to. It can be made taller or shorter as well as having a handle useful to pan or tilt the camera to get a steady shot. This tripod will allow me to get a variety of shots that will be perfectly still so won’t need editing. With the extendable legs, I will be able to get both low angled and high angled shots so my video won’t be boring with all the shots looking the same.

 

 

image3 (1).JPGimage3.JPGimage4

 

 

 

 

 

These are the three types of lights I have available to aid the brightness or focus of a shot in my music video. The red head light (left) can be used alone and the barn doors on the sides of it allow the light to be centred if needs be. This light is the brightest and will be most useful when focusing on someones face. The LED panel light (middle) is used as a key light in a dark room to focus on a subject and can be useful to take outside as it’s battery powered. The final light is used as a fill light to even out shadows in a shot of a person.

image2.JPG

 

This is a Go Pro Hero4 Camera allows 4K video to be filmed at 240 frames per second so that slow motion shots can be filmed easily. It’s also waterproof so any shots that involve water can be filmed very easily using this and it doesn’t matter if it gets wet.

I believe this camera will be useful to get some unique shots and contrast the typical codes and conventions of music videos.

image2 (1).JPG

 

I will attach the camera to this steadicam which benefits me greatly because it doesn’t matter what speed I’m travelling at, it will follow the movements in the shot to a much smoother way than if I used the camera as a handheld. Also, it will help me to add movement to the shots so every shot doesn’t look to stationary. Although this piece of equipment is rather heavy and annoying to hold, the experimentation of shots and sturdiness it gives you certainly makes up for it.

Leave a Reply

